What if a death occurs in another state ?
It is best to contact our funeral home first. This way we can explain to you your options and avoid you from paying unnecessary expenses in dealing with another funeral home in the state where the death took place.
Can I prepay my funeral expenses?
Yes, you can prepay your funeral expenses or those of your loved one. The funds are placed in a F.D.I.C insured interest bearing account for your protection. You can go to www.njsfda.org for more information on the Trust Fund CHOICES.
Do I have to be embalmed?
Except in certain cases, embalming is not required by law. Embalming may be necessary if you select certain funeral arrangements, such as a funeral with viewing. If you do not want embalming, you usually have the right to choose an arrangement that does not require embalming, such as a direct cremation or immediate burial. The law in the State of New Jersey states: No human remains may remain unburied or uncremated in New Jersey for more than 48 hours unless embalmed or refrigerated. (N.J.A.C. 8:9-1.1)
What are my payment options?
Sometimes families may be misinformed by professionals regarding payment of funeral expenses. Our Funeral Home requires payment in full for services rendered, merchandise provided and cash advances due – by the day of the funeral. Finances received after the time of death by the family through the settlement of an estate, insurance proceeds and other death benefits are matters best left between the survivors and their counsel. For you convenience we accept: Personal Check, cash, Master Card, Visa, Discover, American Express and assignment on insurance policies when permitted.
What does a funeral cost?
There are various types of funerals. There are traditional funerals (1 day of visiting followed by a funeral service), Direct Cremations, Immediate Burials and Memorial Services (Funerals without the body present). There are different forms of all the previous funerals mentioned. It is best to contact us for the proper pricing.